Contact Us

The Staff
  Yigal Segal
Executive Director
yigal@webinfonet.net
  Shimon Apisdorf
Educational Director
shimon@webinfonet.net
  Andrea Schulman
Marketing Director
andrea@webinfonet.net.
  Chavie Kagan
Office Manager
chavie@webinfonet.net

 
Authors
  Lori Palatnik
palatnik@the-wire.com
Nachman Braverman
Nbraverman@webinfonet.net
Charles Samuel
Charles@webinfonet.net
  Shimon Apisdorf
shimon@webinfonet.net
Alexander Seinfeld
seinfeld@daasbooks.org
   
 
  Shimon Apisdorf, author and JLF Educational Director

Shimon Apisdorf is the co-founder and educational director of the Jewish Literacy Foundation (JLF). Rabbi Apisdorf has authored eight of the foundation�s books, including the popular Jewish Holiday �Survival Kit� series. Under his leadership, JLF has distributed more than 67,000 books to unaffiliated and marginally affiliated Jews across the continent in an effort to educate Jews about their heritage and bring them closer to Judaism.

Most recently, Rabbi Apisdorf completed Israel in a Nutshell, a book that discusses the history of the creation of the State of Israel and the Israeli/Palestinian conflict. Israel in a Nutshell is the first book in JLF�s continent-wide campaign to provide every Jewish home with a Jewish library. This work is part of a series of twelve books entitled Judaism in a Nutshell that addresses modern-day Jewish issues such as God, spirituality, holidays, and interpersonal relationships in a concise format.

In 1999, Rabbi Apisdorf received the Benjamin Franklin Award from the Publishers Marketing Association for Chanukah: Eight Nights of Light, Eight Gifts for the Soul, and in 1993 he received the same award for the best-selling Rosh Hashanah Yom Kippur Survival Kit.

Before joining JLF, Rabbi Apisdorf was the first Judaic studies teacher hired at the newly founded Columbus Torah Academy High School in 1992 where he taught for three years. From 1991-1993, he was the educational director for the Jewish outreach organization, Aish HaTorah, in Columbus, Ohio. From 1987-1990, he served as the director of special programs for Aish HaTorah in Toronto where he was instrumental in the development of Canada�s largest Jewish adult education program. Today, he resides in Baltimore, MD with his wife, Miriam and their four children.

Apisdorf attended the University of Cincinnati and then went on to study at the Telshe Yeshiva in Cleveland. In addition, he studied at the Aish HaTorah College of Jewish Studies in Jerusalem for five years where he received his Rabbinic Ordination in 1995. Rabbi Apisdorf is also the author of The One Hour Purim Primer, and the co-author of The Death of Cupid: Reclaiming the Wisdom of Love, Dating, Romance, and Marriage.

(c)Jewish Literacy Foundation. Content protected by law, users must obtain written permission for reproduction.